巴黎公約允許您在第一份專利申請的申請日起12個月內向其他國家就同一發明提交申請。

在專利合作條約下,PCT申請可將隨後在其他國家提交申請的時間從12個月延長至約30個月。儘管PCT締約國名單正在擴大,但並非所有國家都是PCT締約國。例如,台灣不是PCT的締約國。

一般而言,大多數國家的發明專利期限為申請日起20年。

美國專利期限延長
在美國,藥物或醫療器械的專利權若獲得聯邦藥物管理局(FDA)批准,專利期限可延長至20年以上。

一般來說,大多數國家的專利局於專利申請的優先權日起18個月左右公佈。因此,如果申請人改變主意,並希望保密其發明,申請人必須在該項專利申請公佈前撤回該專利申請。

專利申請審查主要根據以下三項準則:可授予專利的客體,新穎性和創造性。

可授予專利的客體

抽象概念/自然現象
要符合授予專利條件,所聲稱的客體不得是抽象概念或自然現象。如解決數學問題的智力過程便是一個抽象概念的例子。天然存在的(未改造的)DNA序列便屬於一個自然現象的例子

商業方法和軟件結果 諸如管理投資組合的方法,進行商業活動(例如在線拍賣)的方法和貨運的調度程序的業務方法,經常被許多專利局視為抽象概念,因此專利申請不獲授予。

儘管如此,在撰寫與商業方法有關的專利權利要求時以電腦程式為中心,有時候能巧妙地說服審查員。

軟件發明也面臨同樣的挑戰。然而,每年也有數十萬件與軟件相關的專利申請,可獲得授予專利權。軟件仍然是最活躍和創新技術領域之一,而且一般專利權人會發現軟件專利非常有價值。

藥物和醫學治療結果 基於公共政策,某些國家特別是中國和歐洲,禁止某些藥物和醫學治療授予專利權。但,特定形式的專利權利要求仍然是允許的。

我們在撰寫這些特殊權利要求方面具有豐富的經驗,從而增加了您獨特而有價值的發明的可授予專利性。

新穎性
具有新穎性意味著要求獲得專利保護的發明在其專利申請的申請日/優先權日前從未被出售,供銷售或被任何人公開披露。

寬限期
美國提供一年的寬限期,如果有關發明在公開披露(由申請人/發明人本人)的一年內在美國提交專利申請,仍然有資格獲得美國專利。

創造性
所要求專利保護的發明相對於現有技術一定是非顯而易見的。現有技術的簡單組合被認為是顯而易見,因此這樣的發明不具有可被授予專利權的創造性。另一方面,利用在某些技術領域的現有技術(即藥品和化學品)的新用途/方法是可以獲得專利權的。

我們可以協助您分析您的發明並提供最佳的專利保護方案。

外觀設計註冊的審查與專利申請相對簡單很多,但外觀設計仍然需要進行新穎性審查。換句話說,一個外觀設計必須是新的設計,其總體印象必須與在先的外觀設計註冊不同。在先外觀設計的擁有者可對您的註冊外觀設計請求無效宣告。

專業知識產權服務

專利

專利是法定專有權利,具有新穎性和實用性的工藝...
>> 詳情

外觀設計專利

向獲得外觀設計專利保護的每個國家/地區提交申請...
>> 詳情

商標

商標是將您的商品或服務與他人區分開來的一個標誌...
>> 詳情

版權

版權保護在有形媒介中表達的原創作品...
>> 詳情

The Paris convention route allows you to file patent applications in countries of interest within 12 months of the filing date of your first patent application.

A PCT application extends the time period to subsequently file in other countries under the PCT treaty from 12 months to about 30 months. While the list of PCT contracting countries is expending, not all countries are parties to the PCT. For example, Taiwan is not a PCT contracting country.

In general, the most common types of patents in most countries have a term of 20 years from the filing date.

US Patent Term Extension
In the US, the term of a Utility Patent on a pharmaceutical or medical device invention may be extended longer than 20 years due to its Federal Drug Administration (FDA) approval process.

Generally, the most common types of patent application in most countries are published by the respective patent offices at around 18 months from the priority date. Therefore, if the applicant changes her mind and desires to keep her invention secret instead, she must explicitly abandon her patent application before this time.

A patent application is examined on three major criteria: patentable subject matter, novelty, and inventiveness.

Patentable Subject Matter

Abstract Idea / Natural Phenomenon
To be patentable, the claimed subject matter must NOT be an abstract idea or natural phenomenon. An example of an abstract idea could be a mental process of solving a mathematical problem. An example of a natural phenomenon could be a naturally occurring (unmodified) DNA sequence.

Business Method and Software
A business method, such as a method of managing an investment portfolio, a way of conducting commercial activities (e.g. online auction), and a scheduling procedure of freight shipments, is often viewed by many patent offices as an abstract idea, and thus not patentable.

Nonetheless, cleverly-drafted patent claims defining a business method in terms of machine instructions being executed by computers sometime can persuade an examiner otherwise.

Similarly, software inventions face the same challenge. However, hundreds of thousands of software patent applications continue to be filed every year with many granted patents. Software remains to be one of the most dynamic and innovative technology areas, and patentees find software patents highly valuable.

Medicine and Medical Treatment
By public policy, certain medicines and medical treatments are barred from patenting in some countries, notably China and many European countries. Again, specifically-styled patent claims are still permissible.

We are experienced in drafting these special claims, increasing the patentability of your unique and valuable inventions.

Novelty
Having novelty means the claimed subject matter must have never been sold, offered for sale, or publicly disclosed by anyone before its patent application’s priority date.

Grace Period
The US provides a grace period of one year, so that one can still be eligible for a US patent if she files her patent application in the US within one year of the public disclosure (by the applicant/inventor herself).

Inventiveness
The claimed subject matter must not be obvious in view of the prior art. A simple combination of existing technologies is considered to be obvious, thus such subject matter does not possess inventiveness to be patentable. On the other hand, repurposing of an existing technology is patentable in some technological fields (i.e. pharmaceuticals and chemicals).

We can work with you to determine how your inventive ideas can be best protected by a patent.

While examination in a design registration is a lot simpler and shorter compared to a patent application, a design is still subject to the novelty test. In other words, a design must be new and its overall impression must be different from prior designs. The owner of a prior design could request invalidity of your design registration.

Professional Intellectual Property Services

Patent

A patent is a legal exclusive right a new and useful process, machine...
>> Read More

Design

A design patent protects a novel shape or surface ornamentation...
>> Read More

Trademark

A trademark is a sign which distinguishes your goods and/or services...
>> Read More

Copyright

Copyright protects original works that can be expressed...
>> Read More